Track Events Points Pit Garage Sponsors Contact Facebook
.: June 22nd, 2018 Results:.

Miller Wins MSA Series at SLS

By Kevin Bargender

Unity—The Midwest Sprint Car Association returned to Spring Lake Speedway for a second consecutive season Friday night and Justin Miller seized the win as the series made its sixth appearance of the season on its schedule.

Miller started outside of pole sitter Kurt Davis, but grabbed an early lead and began to pull away from the pack. Ben Schmidt pulled through the field from the sixth position and moved into second after an early caution.

Schmidt kept within a few car lengths of Miller as the two pulled away from the pack and encountered lap traffic.
During the final lap, Schmidt scraped the wall and slowed, finishing sixth.

The top five for the winged sprints were: Miller, Tim Haddy, Davis, Scott Thiel and Travis Arenz.
Last years’ feature winner, Wayne Modjeski, finished 14th.

Bunkleman Grabs A-Mod Feature Victory

Robby Bunkleman guided the 00 to victory in the NASCAR A-Mod feature race Friday night at SLS for his first victory of the season at the track.

Bunkleman started in third, but moved up to the second position after Cole Varsho spun in turn four towards the midway point of the feature.

Bunkleman used the restart to close in on pole sitter Jared Loos and after a short battle for the lead, Bunkleman overtook Loos and drove away for the win.
The top five for the A-Mod’s were: Bunkleman, Loos, Steve Lavasseur, Michael Truscott and Chris Oertel.

Spacek Wins Super Stock Feature in Dramatic fashion

The Super Stock class provided one of the most exciting races of the night as Randy Spacek passed Wayne Dean on the front stretch during the last lap to claim his second straight feature win of the season at SLS Friday night.

Dean started on the pole but had company from the beginning as Cody Kummer and Spacek stayed close.

Spacek made his way past Kummer midway through the feature but still had distance to close on Dean for the lead.

Towards the end of the feature, Spacek closed that distance and challenged for the lead on each of the last three laps.

Finally, on the last lap, Spacek made a run on Dean in turns one and two but could not complete the pass in the backstretch. Dean took the high line in turns three and four, allowing Spacek to dive underneath Dean in the final turns. As the two drivers came out of turn four side-by-side, their cars slammed together battling for the lead. Spacek moved just ahead of Dean during the battle to pull off the last lap pass in a finish that saw Spacek win by only a few feet.
The top five for the Super Stocks were: Spacek, Dean, Kummer, Scott Geiger and Mark Stender.

Truscott Claims Time Shortened Race

Michael Truscott completed the hat trick as he won his third straight B-Mod feature race at SLS on Friday with more than half of the field involved in accidents throughout the night in a race that ended pre-maturely due to reaching the designated time limit.

Truscott bolted out to a big lead early, but a small pile up in turn four brought out the first caution of the race.

After a cleanup of the track, Truscott resumed the lead over the pack, while Andy Karl moved through the pack to crack the top five after starting 10th.

Two more cautions involving drivers behind the top four and debris prolonged the race as the feature neared its time limit.

Karl fell back in the pack as the race resumed before another caution bunched up the pack for a final restart.

As the field crossed the start/finish line on the restart, a large pile-up of cars ensued. The 3T of Ty Springer was flipped on its side during the mayhem as most of the pack was involved in the collision.
Luckily, all drivers were alright after the dirt settled, but only six cars remained on the track undamaged. 

After a lengthy cleanup that involved multiple cars being towed to the pit area, including Karl’s, the maximum time limit for the feature was reached and the race finished under caution.

The top five for the B-Mod’s were: Truscott, Jake Smith, Josh Smith, David Baxter and Kyle Ambroziak.

Gennet Captures Street Stock Feature

Karl Genett finished the night in victory lane for the second time this season at SLS Friday night after winning the Street Stock feature in dominant fashion.

Genett started in the third position but quickly battled for the lead with pole sitter Jay Kesan.
After a caution, Genett took the lead and Cody Kummer moved into second after starting sixth.
Kyle Genett started the night in the back of the pack after a tire blew out on his car during a collision and forced him to miss the remainder of his heat race earlier in the day. Undeterred, Kyle Genett returned for the feature and navigated through the pack to finish in the top five.

The top five for the Street Stocks were: Genett, Kummer, Kesan, Kolby Kiehl and Kyle Genett.

Luedtke Edges out Hakala for Feature Win

Randy Luedtke used lap traffic to help maintain distance between himself and Brandon Hakala and hold on for his second Pure Stock win of the season Friday night at SLS.

Starting just outside of pole sitter Ken Heser, Luedtke took an early lead as the field jockeyed for position behind him.

Brent Hauge and Hakala battled for the second position briefly before Hakala took over the runner-up spot.

Hakala began to challenge for the lead later in the race, but Luedtke started moving through lap traffic and put extra distance between the two drivers.

The top five for the Pure Stocks were: Luedtke, Hakala, Hauge, Leslie Leu and Ken Heser.

Halterman Dominates Hornet Feature in Victory

Jake Halterman ran away from the field for his first Hornet feature win of the season at SLS on Friday night as he dominated early and often.

Starting just outside of pole sitter Jason Junker, Halterman moved past Junker early on in the feature and began to open a large lead over the field. Junker and Casey Gross swapped the second position multiple times as they battled for the runner-up spot, but Junker proved to be quicker as he reclaimed the position towards the end of the feature event.

The top five finishers for the Hornets were: Halterman, Junker, Gross, Tyler Raab and Chad Halterman

Detailed Results

Racing returns to SLS on Friday, July 13, as the track welcomes the Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints to the track. The night will include all six regular racing classes. Racing action begins at 7:30 p.m.